2014 ADIDAS Supernova Glide 6 Boost Long-term Review

 

photo 3

“Tah Dah!” The Adidas Supernova Glide 6 Boost.

First, pardon me with the picture for not using the original laces because as ‘hard-core’ triathletes, that’s always the first thing to go whenever we lay our hands on new kicks for the occasional brick session. And now, about the shoe…

Before I got these pair of Boosts, I was on the Adizero Tempo 5 for training and the Adizero Mana 7 for races cum speedwork. I had 2 pairs of each and I was on them for the past year. I love the ride for both, especially on the Tempo 5 because it’s a good compromise between weight, cushioning and stability. As for the Mana 7, they are surprisingly cushy and stable for a pair of racers.

I got into a bit of an injury early in my training block. While I was recovering from it, I figured it’ll be wise for me to get a pair with a bit more cushioning. That’s only when I took interest in Adidas’s boost technology, though it was already out for a year or so. Since I have a ‘love affair’ for Adidas, I decided to try out the Supernova Glide 6 Boosts. And “Phew!” do they have a long name! Let’s call them SGBs for now.

I did some research about the Boost tech and like some reviewers, I was initially skeptical about this new TPU thing and the claims on energy return but I tried them on anyway. The fit was snug with a roomy toe box hence it fits true to size. I wear size UK9 for my Tempo 5 and the SGBs fits better than them. The 1st few steps felt so cushy and after the few jogs around the shop, I decided to purchase them. They gave me a good feel and I was excited to test them out on the same evening after I get home.

Initial plan was to only do 16kms with some tempo pace in between since I just got back from injury. Anyway, most of my hour-plus runs starts off at the leisurely pace at more than 5min/km pace before I get properly warmed up. But right after the 1st few strides, I was blown away almost immediately. The ‘Energy Return’ was not all show and no go. A quick look at my watch after 1km showed 4:47min/km and honestly, I haven’t put in any real effort yet!

“Okay… Let’s not get to carried away here…”, as I said to myself. But kilometer by kilometer. the ride was smooth and the heel to toe transition felt light and springy. It almost felt like I had no injury beforehand and a 16km half-baked tempo became a 20km negative split run!

The SGBs weighs around 275gm for a size UK9, a ballpark weight for cushioned training shoes but they certainly didn’t feel so after my 1st run in them. They felt more like lightweight trainers which is probably due to the claimed ‘Energy Return’ that makes the ride smooth and efficient. Hence making the SGBs light on its feet.

It had became my go-to shoe for almost every run. Even for some fartlek and long threshold paced intervals. It was that good a shoe and I haven’t even mentioned about the durable Continental outsoles yet. Long runs in cold climate had no effect on the TPU material where EVA midsoles will make you feel like you’re running in court shoes. Most training shoes lasts about 500km after some decent usage but the SGBs gave me such a good feeling that it was hard to resist not take them out for another 2hr run, even after 500km on them.

But the inevitable came as with all shoes and after about over 650km in them, the TPU finally lost it’s ‘Boost’ when my soles and knees felt more sore than usual after a 18km taper run before my Ironman Frankfurt. Yes, the SGBs may cost a tad more than their equivalents but it was well worth it. Most of my other shoes after that much mileage will have visible signs of wear but not the SGBs. The seamless toe box on the uppers and the Continental outsoles still look good. At time of writing, the SGBs still sits proudly on my shoe rack. Most of my other banged up shoes will end up as ‘hand me downs’ or donations. But not for these babies. They’re staying.

Before it’s semi-retirement, I had bought myself another pair of SGBs and having totally sold on Boost Technology, I got a pair of Adizero Adios Boost(Phew) as well. Reviews had them rated as overpriced and heavy for a pair of racers BUT, the AABs proved that it’s worth every penny spent after I used them enroute for my 9hr 46min PB in Ironman Frankfurt(as shown below) with no issues but only praise so far. I shall do another long-term review on them once it’s near the end of it’s lifespan. (Word has it that the Adizero Adios Boost 2.0 is out now)

0751_072617

“Boosts activated yo!!!”

Finally, I shall conclude by listing the Supernova Glide 6 Boosts it’s pros and cons.

For:

– Fit and quality

– Exceptional cushioning and ride

– Durability and versatility

– Simple design and colours unlike some shoes now with colourways and hues fit for a clown shoe.

Against:

– Price

– Some may find the rear heel counter a bit too roomy

– Only for those who still prefers the traditional drop

– The long name… (Hehehe)

In one sentence:

“Should’ve gotten them earlier!”

Some links:

www.adidas.com.sg

Runner’s World review

Men’s Health Singapore review

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

