Floorball games report – Louise Khng

SUNIG_1

game face! Louise in white.

Firstly, my apologies for the lack of any updates but I’ve finally managed to squeeze in some time to give a summary of the floorball season. So here goes..!

I had been out of (league) action for almost a year due to an injury that required me to rest for close to six months. Having only played just three matches last season, I sought to come back this season to complete some “unfinished business”. The team hit a big bump on our first match but bounced back with consecutive wins until other bumps came along.

It was a season of ups and downs but the team managed to keep it together to end the group matches on a high, heading into the playoffs feeling confident. We were up against the champions of the last two seasons in the semi-finals but alas we lost on penalties.

With only 2 goals and 5 assists for the league, I definitely could have played a better season. With a couple of “player of the match” (which came as a surprise to me), I decided to add moolas to my donation pot.

On top of playing the league, I also played (for NTU) in the Singapore University Games which was held over three weeks in September and October. NTU finished a surprising second place having put up excellent fights against the stronger teams; NUS and SIM. I ended the tournament with 3 goals and 1 assist.

SUNIG13_Team

NTU team during the Singapore University Games

 

And so…. the Singapore Floorball League 2013/2014 season and the Singapore University Games ended with donations of $345 and $95 respectively, amounting to a total of $440 for the ‘Iron Project’.

While the donation amount may seem a little disappointing but as a friend of ‘Iron Project’, I challenged myself to:

  1. keep a clean sheet every time I was on court,
  2. provide opportunities for my team mates to score,
  3. score goals (which I hardly ever do), and most importantly
  4. play the best I possibly could (even during bad days).

This season’s heart wrenching semi-finals loss and with the upcoming Institute Varsity Polytechnic Tournament coming up in January 2014 (which I hope to play), I look forward to challenge myself yet again, even though my body is telling me otherwise J

It will be tough to juggle work, studies and training but come 2014, I hope to be able to contribute more as a friend of ‘Iron Project’, continue to persevere and perhaps get others on board J

Thank you for all your support and encouragement! Till next season…

TUS Liitto

TUS Liitto!!

Weapons_1

weapon of choice

Leave a Reply

